I think I fucked you like breathing
like, not like fireworks at all.
I can’t even light a lighter but I burned and burned for you
and you did too.
(you were so warm)

I think I fucked you like breathing.
Like, did that even happen?
Wasn’t that what I’ve been doing all these years?
How can it not be I don’t understand
how long have I been missing listening to the sound of my own chest?
(you made so much sense)

I think I fucked you like breathing,
like I was practically born doing it
– a little nudge notwithstanding,
the fat gold watch of my future now ticking in time.
(you so set me going)

I think I fucked you like breathing,
like sunlight and soft bread and ankles-shins-knees in the sea,
like everything I’ve known in my bones
was two-deep in me and in you.
(you felt so soft)

I think I fucked you like breathing,
like I couldn’t be wrong
like every thing, every gasp was me
filling my lungs and my longing with clear, sweet air.
(you were so right)

