mama, make me one and enough.

mama I so want the water,
and tremble, long out of habit;
my heaviness rises, ready to sink,
to quell I skirt the shore.
beneath me warm dunes curve and slip
my feet arch high to swell –
to forge momentum to my balance.
o mama, make me one and enough.

mama lifted by the peering kind
I tie our crossbars underneath;
kiss-built, two by two, in song,
and brunch and tea and queer.
test stay and stead of each long plank;
I bless them bound together,
yet buckle tween the struts.
o mama, make me one and enough.

mama make me fit to launch
my salient span from sand to sky.
cast seabird single on the wind,
these winged dreams from out stale nests –
stretching, to be sure beyond the see.
o mama, make me one and enough.

mama now envelop me
lick salt my every wound –
sting and seal me from all sides.
I am the third letter and the writer all at once;
bent near double over faithful, faltering prayers.
I want the water, I want the water,
o mama, make me one and enough.

